Cheers for India

Tasneem Khalil

Tasneem Khalil

[Match report by Shahnawaz Alam.]

Result India won by 5 runs.

Full Scorecard by CricInfo.

Toss India, who chose to bat first.
Series India won the 2007/08 ICC World Twenty20.
Player of the match IK Pathan (India)
Player of the series Shahid Afridi (Pakistan)

1983 — India wins the World Cup. Kapil Dev, a super hero. RP Singh was nonexistent. Years later, 2007, India gets to bring home a cup and this time, youngsters like Dhoni, Yuvraj, RP Singh, lead the way. It was RP Singh and Irfan Pathan who stopped the six-hitting Misbah-ul-Huq from taking away the cup to the other side.

After Kapil Dev won the cup in 1983, many captains have led the team towards the final, but no further. The latest was Saurov Ganguly